Wing-Feather Fables: Floating Castle

I imagine at some point in our collaboration, I will stop being surprised by the worlds Lisa creates with so few words. Each unique and fully-formed. Here is a story that catches at your heart-strings through the colorings of a child.  Read on.

Floating Castle

The crazy house floats by every third Tuesday in the month of May. My little sister calls it “Castle,” but there’s no drawbridge, no narrow slits for arrows, no murder holes for burning oil. My mother thinks it’s like a patchwork quilt made up of doors and windows. I guess they’re both a little nuts. Women. That’s what dad would say.

Read the rest of the story here.

Photograph by Brenda Gottsabend; Story by Lisa Ahn

Read more about Wing-Feather Fables here.

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love each and every one . . . one day I might stop being surprised too but that hasn’t happened yet.

  2. I’m on the go and will read the story later, but the image so reminds me of an old library in Provo, Utah. The architecture is so similar, right down to the color of brick and green metal. I have a photo of it somewhere…I may look for it to see how alike the two structures really are.

    • Suzette – that would be cool – to find its architectural twin! This building was located in a small city/suburb next to where I grew up in south Akron. If I recall, it was a Mason’s Lodge or something similar – I was taken by the ironwork. And be sure to come back for the story – it is one of my favorites.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

