Wise Words Sunday

Our Light

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.”

Marianne Williamson

 

Posted on March 17, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I love your ‘Wise Words Sunday’! I love that quote and I love that you matched it with your brilliant portrait of light-bulb, reminding us of the inventor – who brought us this new level of light – bringing us out of a kind of darkness. And, as a symbol, reminding us of our own inner light of creativity. Happy Sunday, Brenda. Happy beautiful, inspiring, light-filled Sunday!!

    • Juli – I wish my day was filled with light but we are back to overcast grayness here in Ohio. But that’s okay – I can feel spring coming. I am fond of this image – one of those “it’s-too-bad-to-shoot-outdoors” shots, taken this winter. It is amazing to think of what went in to the creation of this object – and how much we take it for granted today. Wishing you the light of creativity today.

  2. Love these pairings you are doing of image and quote . . . just perfect.

    • Kathryn – I am enjoying this weekly feature – pairing up words and images. It gives me an opportunity to seek out the inspiration I myself need and then share it.

  3. This is something different, Brenda. I really like the composition with lots of space. Such a great b&w! Inspiring quote too!

    • Gina – yes, one of my indoor still life shots, taken when the weather was too nasty to head out for my photo walk. I liked the challenge of capturing the translucency of the glass and its delicate insides. And obviously, still part of my recent BW phase.

  4. Lovely photo of that light bulb! And the perfect quote to go with it. Thanks for the wise words to ponder this Sunday.

    • Lee – words for all of us to ponder as there is such wisdom there. I am grateful for the opportunity to share the words that move me.

  5. One of my all-time favorite quotes..and one that I have printed and pinned to my bulletin board next to my desk!! And – I love the image. Perfect!

  6. What a fascinating image! Only you with your fabulous graphic images could make a iight bulb take my breath away!

    • Cathy – thanks so much! This is one of my “indoor” images – taken when the weather outside was frightful and I was forced to hunt around the house for something to shoot. I usually struggle with these types of images – but this one came together in a way that I liked. I am glad that I found a quote that paired up well with the image and was able to share both with you.

  7. Love how you’ve photographed the light bulb and really lifted it out of the ordinary. Fabulous quote too, one of my favourites.

    • Becs – this quote seems to reside at the top of the list for many people. And rightly so – it is a powerful (and scary) thought. I am glad to bring it to you again, along with my humble lightbulb.

  8. I love this image, you make a light bulb look so beautiful!

    • Leanne – this was taken on one of those winter days when I couldn’t face bundling up and heading outside. As I was preparing to change a lightbulb in the bathroom, it struck me how fascinating the bare bulb was – and this image was the result. One of my favorites from my “indoor-macro-too-cold-outside” shots. 🙂

  9. Great image of a light bulb. I especially like the glass bulb part–barely seen.
    The quote is one I’ve read before, but not sure if I agree with it.

    • Anita – that was my favorite part of this still life – capturing the barely-there glass bulb. Glass is always a challenge.

  10. Wow!!! I really love that quote and only you could turn an image of a simple lightbulb into art. I love all those subtle shadows and light in the glass. Fabulous!

    • Suzette – this was one of those spur-of-the-moment opportunities. I was actually in the process of changing that lightbulb when it struck me how beautiful it was. And I liked the challenge of shooting clear glass. I actually shot it from above, with the bulb lying on a piece of white paper – I like the way it almost looks as if it is standing upright on its own. One of my favorite macros taken this winter.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

