Wing-Feather Fables: The City of Dreams

What does it take to fashion a dream? To rebuild a life? Warning: you may want to have a box of Kleenex close at hand. This one moved me to tears.

City of Dreams

The City of Dreams insists upon its own disassembled architecture. You will notice this immediately, as you navigate a street that shifts from cobblestones to asphalt, dirt, pebbles, sand and brick, all inside of forty paces. Do not be alarmed. The City of Dreams is built from stories, layered. You will wander, disconsolate, unless you heft a chisel, drill, a hammer, nails. Enter in.

Read the rest of the story here.

Photograph by Brenda Gottsabend; Story by Lisa Ahn

Read more about Wing-Feather Fables here.

 

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Brenda, I just love that image and Lisa words were so powerful and gripping. This is definitely one I’ll be re-reading.

    • Kathryn – I know – wasn’t this fable something? So emotional – full of hope and pain and sadness and joy – all the stuff of life, mixed together. It is now one of my favorites.

  2. This is a wonderful image! I can see how well it would go with a story. I like the hand within a hand, and the wall within a wall.

    • Anita – I had walked by this scene many times without taking a shot – it just seemed to be too obvious or something as a photographic subject. But then on this morning, the sun lit it up with the most beautiful golden light and I couldn’t resist. If you have the time, be sure to read the fable – it is one of her best yet.

  3. Pure art in image and storytelling! {sigh}

    • Suzette – Oh, the storytelling in this one was indeed pure magic. I am continually amazed (although I should know better by now) at the places Lisa can take my images – places I never imagined and never could image without her. I am so very, very grateful that she is my collaborator and the force and voice behind Wing-Feather Fables.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

