Third Thursday Wrap-up: February

Snow Scene, Framed

The February edition of the Third Thursday Challenge was a rousing success, if I do say so myself.

When I envisioned this monthly challenge, I hoped it would provide a safe place for each of us to try new things and be inspired by the work of others. And you haven’t disappointed, my friends. Each of you has taken on a unique and inspiring challenge, some of which I have added to my own challenge list. Thank you for trusting me with your experiments and explorations; with your journeys into the unknown.

As for me, I leave you with a triple challenge – a black and white image, toned a cool blue; a composition with perceived depth and, framed by architecture, nature as subject. Even a human element, with those footprints in the snow.

It’s still not too late to join in – the link will be open through the end of the day. Come dip your toes into the water, why don’t you?

And be sure to mark you calendars – the Third Thursday Challenge will return March 21.

Posted on February 28, 2013, in Third Thursday Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. So many elements in this image. Love the composition and perspective.

    • Kathryn – thanks! This one was definitely an experiment for me – stepping outside my comfort zone on so many levels. I so appreciate the support.

  2. Beautiful and wonderfully composedI love how my eye goes out the opening, following the footsteps to the path that leads me right through the image! Thank you for hosting this great party! It’s the little push I need to learn something new each month!

    • Cathy – I am pleased to be your host – I learn so much from my own monthly challenge as well as from what all the participants take on. This feature has turned into everything I hoped it would be. Thank you so much for joining in.

  3. A triple winner, Brenda! The composition is masterful and the tones accent this wonderful winter scene. I’m so pleased to see that your idea of Third Thursday Challenge has taken hold and lots of us are learning and sharing.

    • Gina – me, too! I am thrilled that this tiny seed of an idea is beginning to grow. Giving myself a monthly challenge has proved to be a great thing for my photography. Add learning from others to the mix and it is a recipe for growth.

  4. Brenda, this is a gorgeous image to close out this month’s challenge. I’m glad I was able to join in this time. It was really fun and I’m looking forward to finding new challenges in the future.

    • Lee – and I was so glad to have you join in this month. I hope this idea of a monthly challenge will become part of your regular photography practice and you will share your journey with the rest of us.

  5. I love your triple challenge! i really like your cool blue tones & those trees are lovely.

    • Leanne – it just goes to show that all this “challenging” is a good thing. The monthly explorations are slowing incorporating their way into my daily shooting.

  6. Love the composition..the cool color tones..the juxtaposition of man and nature. Well seen and framed!

    • Marcie – thanks! This image was a great example of the impact my monthly challenges have had on my photography. I am slowly incorporating the lessons learned into my daily practice. I still have my “go-to” subjects and compositional style but I am more aware of other ways to capture the world around me.

  7. Love this image, Brenda….every single element of it! Absolutely superb. Sorry to have missed contributing this month, due to travels..but I’ll be back next month!

    • Juli – you were definitely missed and I look forward to your March challenge! But oh, how lovely to experience your travels through your photographs.

  8. Wow! When I’m feeling a bit more confident I’d love to join in! I’ll mark my calendar! :o)

    xo

    • Suzette – well you do understand that the whole point of this challenge is to try something that scares you, right? 🙂 Confidence is definitely NOT a requirement. So put it on your calendar and join in.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

