Wise Words Sunday

Look Up

“Sometimes life has a way
of putting us on our backs
to force us to look up.”

Charles L. Allen

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The February edition of the Third Thursday Challenge will be open through the end of the month. Check outย how the other participants have stepped outside their comfort zones – so very inspiring. What will your challenge be?

Posted on February 24, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I like this kind of strong b&w, contrasty and with blacks and whites…

    • Me, too. I have been on a black and white kick lately. Monochrome images seem to be speaking very loudly to me. Thanks for topping by and commenting.

  2. Happy Sunday Brenda. Very cool POV. Did you stretch it out flat on the ground like a rebel for this one? Too cold for me to do that these days. I lose my balance when I shoot straight up. Have to be quick.
    Love this in BW….adds to the quote I think. The whole darkenss and light thing. That yin yang sure gets a lot of mileage.
    Thanks for your recent kind words on my pics. Kat’s classes cause soul searching (wish you were journeying with us) and I like to allow myself to do that fully. I think it comes out dark because I don’t wish to be anything but genuine with myself. I’m not really in a funk, I’m sort of motionless and steady, but wishing for more. Guess I’ll have to look up. Thanks for the tip.
    Have a great day.

    • Susan – no laying on the ground for me. This was a stretch-the-neck-back kind of shot. But yeah – have to get it quick or I walk around with a neck ache the rest of my photo walk. And since the sky was completely boring – that winter blah gray – black and white seemed the way to go on this one – turning the sky into a rectangle of light.

      And I like how honest you are in your soul-searching and your willingness to “go dark” if that is where you find yourself. I think that’s part of the reason I decided not to journey along with you this time – didn’t want to spend the money; wasn’t up to soul-searching, I guess.

  3. Love this pairing, Brenda! What a great POV in your image — my neck gets a bit stiff just looking at it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Such wonderful lines and textures too!

    • Gina – yea, my neck gets stiff just remembering the shot – ah, what we will do for our art ๐Ÿ™‚ This image is a good reminder to “look up” when I’m out on my photo walks.

  4. Wow! I love this! Beautiful lines and fantastic in B&W! I would never be able to look up and take a picture like this! I’d be on my backside!!

    • Cathy – it is definitely a skill ๐Ÿ™‚ I usually walk away with a neck ache, that’s for sure! But I couldn’t resist this “tunnel” to the sky.

  5. Love this quote (so, so true) – awesome result of the ‘looking up’ and love the black and white too.

    • Becs – Apparently, I’m still on my BW kick. Which is okay – I’m having fun with seeing in monochrome and playing with post-processing options. It certainly seems to fit in well with the general gray that is an Ohio winter.

  6. Love this image, quite dizzying really, you’ve framed it beautifully- beautiful lines & reflections- & of course lovely in b&w. great quote too and applicable in more than photography.

    • Leanne – it is always a challenge to find something intriguing in the middle of winter, when the sky is an overcast gray and there is no interesting light. So this “looking up” shot came about because I was desparately trying to find something, anything to shoot. It was a little dizzying during the shot-making too ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’m glad you liked it and the quote.

  7. Gorgeous image, true quote!

    • Lisa – thanks! Luckily, I didn’t need to actually lay out on my back to get this shot but there was neck pain involved ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Stunning architectural shot. Did you lie on your back? This image seems to combine both a flat graphic design and depth, in the form of perspective.

    • Anita – I think I should claim that I did lie down to take this shot – it makes me seem much more daring and interesting ๐Ÿ™‚ But no, just leaned my neck and camera waaay back and stood right in the center of the “tunnel” created by those surrounding walls.

  9. Stunning! Amazing capture. I’m reading many of your posts this morning…can’t sleep and words you’ve said previously to this edition are still in my head. This image reminds me that I need to look for the beauty where I live. And, it’s going to require a drive further away than the corner to do it. I love driving on the roads I know so well, but I need to step outside my comfort zone and find new roads…

    I’m so glad you found your passion for finding/seeing the architectural secrets of your home town! You are an inspiration! Thank you!

    • Suzette – yes, I rather expected you were on a reading roll, when I found all your comments waiting for me this morning ๐Ÿ™‚ When I first began taking my camera with me on my walks, I limited myself to the area within walking distance of my home. At that time, the walks were about exercise and the camera was just an accompanient. It was when I finally gave myself permission to actually get in the car and drive to a location for the singular purpose of taking photos, that my photography really changed. And even though I have lived in Canton for 20 years, as I began exploring the blocks of our relatively small downtown, I was amazed at what I discovered. I think exploring your new home with camera in hand will be an eye-opening experience for you. Here’s to finding new roads.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

