Wing-Feather Fables: Naiad Dreams

 In Greek mythology, the Naiads were a type of female spirit who presided over fountains, wells, springs, streams, brooks and other bodies of freshwater. Not to be trifled with, the Naiads. Read on…

Naiad Dreams

The dreams of Naiads keep the city up at night. They are fitful in the lowering waters, the river slowly drying. They scratch their alabaster nails along retaining walls, just below the mold and moss. Occasionally, they scale concrete, wrap their fingers round the bars, and wail as if the city might redeem them.

Read the rest of the story here.

Photograph by Brenda Gottsabend; Story by Lisa Ahn

Read more about Wing-Feather Fables here.

 

Posted on February 13, 2013, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The stories Lisa comes up with for your images are amazing. I have trouble enough thinking up a title for a photograph! I’m curious about your (both of you) process. Do you give her multiple images to choose from, or does she imagine a story for whatever image you choose each time?

    I loved her imagery in that first paragraph. I can see the scratches from the naiads’ “alabaster nails.”

    • Lee – oh, yes – Lisa’s imagination is nothing short of amazing – and she does the majority of the heavy lifting in this partnership. Each month, I send her two images – and that’s what she writes to. We have an agreement that she can reject any image that doesn’t inspire but, thus far, that hasn’t happened. However, it is my contention that she could concoct a breathtaking story if I sent her a photo of a white wall. I pinch myself on a regular basis that she reached out to me to form this collaborative partnership – to serve as the visual spark for her imagination is nothing short of awe-inspiring. I am her biggest fan. I’m glad you enjoy our collaboration.

  2. You are both way too nice. My head is going to swell and then I’ll be top heavy and tumble over everywhere I go. Plus, I won’t fit through doorways.

  3. Wow! Amazing image with so much rich color. I feel the sun, bright and yellow, reflecting off the hard cement and somehow I’m warmed by it (never mind I don’t need warming as it’s been near 70 degrees everyday this week), even though snow covers the ground behind the fence. So was it a warm or cold? As always…stunning!

    • Suzette – it was a cold day – I was bundled up in my outdoor-photo-walk layers – but when the sun is shining, it nevers feels as cold. It has been cold and very windy here – not conducive to outdoor photo inspiration. (Hence, the still lifes.)

I greatly appreciate your comments!

