Wise Words Sunday

Inner Light
 

“People are like stained-glass windows.
They sparkle and shine when the sun is out,
but when the darkness sets in
their true beauty is revealed
only if there is light from within.”

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

Posted on February 3, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. This is so beautiful – both the image and the quote. And so very very true. Here’s to all of our ‘inner light’..and may it shine brightly!

    • Marcie – thanks. Yes, here’s to a celebration of “inner light”. May we see it in others and let our own shine brightly.

  2. Amazing quote! Gorgeous colors.

    • Thanks Anita. This sculpture stands in front of the main library in downtown Canton. I have attempted numerous times to capture it in a way that celebrates the radiant colors of the stained glass. This was one of my more successful attempts.

  3. What a great quote and gorgeous image! I immediately started humming the children’s song, This Little Light of Mine. Brenda, do you start with the quote or the photo? You mange to match them so well.

    • Gina – ha! now I have that song in my head 🙂 I usually find a photo that I want to feature and then search for a quote that seems to embody the visual. Occasionally, I will read a quote and a certain image will pop into my head. Either way, it’s a fun exercise for me each week.

  4. The words and your image fit so well together! Beautifully done.

  5. What an absolutely stunning image and I love the quote that you’ve chosen, perfect (and so true). Love this series. 🙂

    • Becs – thanks so much! I am enjoying this weekly exercise very much. There are so many quotes out there that inspire me – this seemed to be the perfect solution to feature them.

  6. So beautiful, Brenda. Word and image, each individually, and combined. Your Sunday series is so powerful. Thank you for doing it!

    • Juli – I am thrilled the reactions have been so positive to my weekly quote series. It is fun and challenging and personally inspiring.

  7. Une lumière fantastique, j’aime beaucoup !

  8. Beautiful light and color and words to go with it!

    • This is one of those public art pieces that I have attempted to capture multiple times. When the sun is shining through the jeweled glass, it is quite stunning. On this day, I was in the right place at the right time to capture the sunlight streaming through.

  9. Very wise words. And, I love that blast of sun star in the lower left.

    • Kim – I have attempted capturing this sculpture many times – it was the sun flaring through that made this one a keeper.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

