Wise Words Sunday

Purpose

“Your work is to discover your work
and then, with all your heart,
to give yourself to it.”

Buddha

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Because I enjoyed The 2012 Countdown so much, let me welcome you to my new feature, “Wise Words Sunday”. Here, each week, I will continue the basic concept of pairing one of my images with a quote. It is my hope that you will be inspired.

Don’t forget – the first Third Thursday Challenge of 2013 is January 17th. The link will be open through the end of the month. Why not make this monthly challenge one of your creativity resolutions for 2013? I would love to have you join me.

 

Posted on January 6, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Those curving lines represent the indirect, intersecting paths I’ve taken to my work. The straight line is the core of my self, running through my various wandering explorations. The top circle represents my work. I imagine the core of my self continuing to grow upward, with more curving paths the uphold it and nurture it.

    • Anita – oh, my! I wish I had been able to so eloquently describe the connection between this image, the quote and my own creative life. There was some undefinable emotion that connected the two for me but your description is sublime. Thank you for sharing it here with us – and lending your inspirational voice to the first “Wise Words Sunday”.

  2. What a wonderful and oh-so-very-inspiring idea!! A perfect way to celebrate Sunday. And – I just love this first quote. YES!!!

    • Marcie – I found that I enjoy the challenge of pairing up an image and a quote – and figured if I could do it for a month during The 2012 Countdown, I could take on a year of Sundays. Thanks for your enthusiastic response.

  3. Hey Brenda-thanks for the little “bump” reminder about the 17th. I need it.
    I don’t know where you find these quotes-but what a great project for you. Each time I look for one I find a lot of junk and it takes forever. It totally works for you. Great personal challenge.
    Happy Sunday to you.

    • Susan – I hope you join in with the Third Thursday Challenge this month – your participation always adds something wonderful to any joint endeavor. I am certainly hoping I can keep up with this quote/image project – I am always inspired and amazed by the wisdom of others.

  4. I’m so glad you are continuing this practice, Brenda. I’ve enjoyed getting the inspiration from the quotes — you find such good ones!
    I love Anita’s interpretation of your image! It really is special.

    • Gina – There is so much wisdom and inspiration out there. I hope I can pull a tiny bit of it together, here in this space, throughout the year. And yes – Anita found such depth and meaning, expressing it so eloquently. It just goes to show how much we can learn from each other.

  5. Striking image ! I love the simplicity of it and all the lines my eyes follow! I’ve enjoyed your photo/quote project and I’m so glad you’re going to continue it!

    • Thanks Cathy. I have enjoyed it as well so it made sense to make it a regular part of my life this year. I hope it will continue to bring us both inspiration.

  6. You pair images & words so beautifully, I’ll look forward to your wise words each Sunday

    • Leanne – thank you for your kind words. It was the positive reactions of my readers that convinced me to continue this image/quote practice – plus there is the added benefit of searching and finding wisdom each week through the words of others.

  7. Love this image and quote. So pleased it’ll be a regular – loved your countdown series. 🙂

    • Becs – thanks so much for following along with the Countdown and now its continuation as Wise Words Sunday. It is a fun challenge that adds another element of creativity to my week.

  8. Hi, Brenda…
    I love this quote – I’ve put in the opening page of my notes book for 2013. Thank you! 🙂 And, I love the image you’ve paired with it. Perfection. What a start to the New Year!
    So, glad you’ll be sharing this each Sunday! And, yes, see you for the Third Thursday Challenge!

    • Juli – this is the very reason I decided to continue this tradition throughout the year – to hopefully bring a tiny dose of inspiration as you begin your week. I’m so glad this quote resonated with you as we begin this new year together. (And so glad to know that you will be joining up the the Third Thursday Challenge!)

  9. Love this quote and your image is paired perfectly. Your photoblog is more than a visual treat–you have so many creative ideas displayed here. You always get me thinking about new things.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

