The 2012 Countdown: Day 1

2012-Countdown

Like many of you, I participated in Susannah Conway’s The August Break – which for me was a month of few words and an image a day.

I so enjoyed that experience that I have decided to do something similar in this last month of the year. And so, today I embark on my 2012 countdown – marking the final 31 days of my third 365 Project and a special celebration of the upcoming holiday season – a kind of virtual advent calendar.

I don’t have much in the way of expectations for this countdown. I hope to end the year with those final 31 daily images. In three attempts, I have never attained perfection in my 365 Projects – there have always been a handful of days, including this year, when the camera stayed in its bag. But I am letting go of any disappointment over missed days and instead celebrating the hundreds of daily successes.

This will also be a quiet time to reflect on the year that has passed and to anticipate the year to come.

So here we go – counting down the final days of 2012!

Posted on December 1, 2012, in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Celebrating all your successes with you . . . your images are striking, powerful and unique.

  2. What a wonderful idea! May I join you? I dont have a 365 project to work on but I love the idea of marking and savouring each day as we count down to the end of the year. I don’t know if I can make 31 days in a row but it will be fun trying! And, Brenda, I am always at the ready to toast and celebrate you, and your incredible work! All 365 days of the year! 🙂

    • Juli – absolutely – the more the merrier! And I SO appreciate your friendship and support – it means the world to me. Sharing our work together is a highlight of this blogging process. Let the marking and savoring begin.

  3. Such a fine idea, Brenda! Focusing on all you’ve accomplished and celebrating each day left in 2012 is a great way to end the year. I love, love your image!

  4. Excellent idea- it’s always nice to slow down & savour the moments at this particularly busy time of year. Looking forward to seeing your daily post through December.

  5. I’m sure that no matter how these 31 days go, you will have learned much and grown in your 365 project.

    I have to thank you for your wise advice. I have missed a couple of days so far in my own 365, but thanks to your example I have done my best to “be kind” to myself and just take up where I left off.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts this month!

    • Deb – I’m glad my advice helped. Embarking on a 365 Project is a major undertaking but I have found that it is the intention and the commitment that is important – and I don’t beat myself up when life interferes and it just seems too hard and the daily photo doesn’t get made. I just go out the next day and begin again. And while I would love to say that “I did it!” – took a photo a day for 365 days straight – I’m good with saying that photography is an integral part of my life and that I do my best to follow through with my commitment every day.

  6. What a wonderful and inspiring concept and idea. Somehow – I’m always wanting this month of December..this last month of the year – to be a slow contemplative looking back/looking forward kind of a month. And – here you’re doing it. Love it!

  7. Wonderful idea, Brenda!! I’m looking foward to seeing your daily posts!! I love your image, the processing is beautiful!

  8. Perfect photo to start the countdown.
    Good for you for focusing on your many, many, many successes.

  9. Here’s to all your accomplishments past and those yet to come Brenda. I’m loving the view from here!

  10. What a great idea. This time of year can be so overwhelming, I’m also striving for some quiet time for reflection. Love the striking image you’ve created here.

  11. Brenda, this is a wonderful idea. Now I’ll have the pleasure of looking forward to one of your beautiful images every day for the rest of the year.

  12. Sounds like a great project, Brenda.

  13. Hurrah for celebrating success–you’ve had a wonderful year!

  14. What a wonderful idea, Brenda – a virtual advent calendar. I think you’re on to a regular something.

  1. Pingback: First of December « Words and Photographs

  2. Pingback: COMMUNION « Words and Photographs

  3. Pingback: Perfectly Imperfect « Words and Photographs

I greatly appreciate your comments!

