Hanging by a Thread

The destruction continues – pieces of concrete and brick, lit by the morning sun, hang by mere threads, dangling like beads on a necklace.  Even at the end moment, they stubbornly persist. 

Much like the negative story that I continue to tell myself – the one where my images don’t connect emotionally; that they are too abstract; too geometric; too cold. And that story continues to hang on, bound by the strongest cord, even when presented with evidence to the contrary.

Two weeks ago, I wrote a post called “Dreams of Destruction” where I featured another demolition image. And, to my amazement, that photograph touched an emotional chord with so many. Who would have thought that a photograph of a building’s dismantling would connect in such a deeply personal way?

I need to let them go – those thoughts, that particular negative story. Cut the cord, snap the thread. To stop being weighed down by the battered pieces of an old narrative.  It’s time to build anew.

Trusting that you will see something that touches your heart in my photographs.

And trusting my heart to be revealed.

Texture Tuesday Processing

  • Process midtone contrast action using the High Pass filter to bring out the texture and details
  • Reduce saturation of the sky, to eliminate the yellowish cast, using a masked Hue/Saturation adjustment
  • Add the Confidence texture, blend mode = Overlay
  • Add the Golden texture, blend mode = Darken

The Photoshop layers palette and the original image are below:

 Layers-Palette
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Don’t forget: you still have time to join in with November’s Third Thursday Challenge! The link will be open through midnight on November 30. There aren’t any rules – just share with us something different. Dip your toes into some new water. You’ll be glad you did.  
  

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Love this image…the suspension and anticipation is palpable. Time to let go and trust the process for sure….. 🙂

  2. There truly is something unexpected and strangely sad and beautiful in these images of this old building’s demise. Well done!

  3. Well, I really connect with this image and your words. I think we all feel like we are hanging by a thread sometimes…..the doubts and negativity can overwhelm us. I have to remind myself that each day is new and full of possibilities.

  4. Wow Brenda, I found myself falling into this image. All remain thoughts of doubt should definitely be cast out.

  5. just so moving, really. I know how it is when the mind gets stuck on a story that just isn’t serving you. yet… I often turn and face the stories and look them straight in the eyes. what I find is that I am usually just bullying and scaring myself and that if I will stop, pause really, I might find the gem within the story. I can see many gems in this image. it sings. BEautimously.

  6. I’m constantly inspired by your vision Brenda–don’t ever doubt it

  7. forgive me but I find this photo disturbing and I can’t understand how useful can be to register it. I always try to capture the happy moments to give me strengh when I’m down. I hope you find your way to peace of mind. thank you for sharing your heart with us. xxo
    Ana @ wonderland

    • Ann – I appreciate your honesty – even though your reaction was negative to this image, which certainly wasn’t my intention, at least the image had an impact on you. Photography, as all art, is certainly subjective – what appeals to one person, leaves another unmoved. All we can do is put out there what is meaningful to each of us and trust that connections will be made. I certainly understand the desire to capture happy moments that serve as personal inspiration. I hope that you will consider stopping by again.

  8. Brenda..once again, a powerful image. Something ugly and mundane transformed into something of substance and beauty. Cut the chord of doubt. Cut the cord of the negative story. Your work is beautiful and profound. And, I am touched by it every time.

  9. I love looking at your photos Brenda, you have such a unique eye & your images &words always connect with me emotionally.

  10. Gorgeous light and color and textures.
    For me, the image works because it is a perfect illustration for your words.
    I know exactly what you mean by the inner story you tell yourself that your work is not good enough, perhaps that you are not good enough. It is a story I’ve worked hard to eliminate from my own mind and life. The negative story still lingers, coming out strong when I’m tired or stressed. But, it recedes when I’m rested, and productive–doing the work that speaks to me, that brings joy to my heart and a smile to my face.
    I’m amazed that women whom I admire, whose work I find excellent, have to fight these negative voices.

  11. I do believe that the way people view an image, and this one in particular, reflects the viewer’s interior (and that will be unique for each of us). So, whatever prompted you to take it will not necessarily be how other’s view it.

    There are many different ways this image could be interpreted, but when it comes right down to it, it is reality and you have captured it beautifully.

  12. Cast that doubt aside! The wonder of this image, for me, is how these huge chunks of concrete can hang from such slender cables. Wow!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

