Disney Abstracted

Our trip to Disney World was a grand success. The weather cooperated – even with Sandy roaring up the Florida coastline. For 4 days, we were teenagers again, riding the Aerosmith-themed roller-coaster with wild abandon; shooting up the Toy Story Midway Mania arcade; screaming, arms overhead, as the floor dropped beneath us in the Tower of Terror; overloading on Ghiradelli chocolate ice cream; marveling at the mind-boggling acrobatics of Cirque du Soleil.

Woody and Buzz were there, as well as the cast from the Lion King, The Little Mermaid and Finding Nemo. My old favorite, The Muppets, demonstrated their skill in 3-D and Michael Jackson, as Captain EO, made a big-screen appearance.

Photography wasn’t a priority. The focus was on having fun and being together. The camera spent a good amount of time zipped inside my camera bag.

But I did manage to capture small abstract pieces of the wonder that is Disney World – a place built with imagination and magic and a sprinkling of fairy dust.

So enjoy my take on the wonderful world of Disney.

And many thanks for the anniversary and birthday wishes!


 


 

 

 


 

 

 

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Brenda so glad that you and your family had an amazing time. Love the images you managed to capture too, especially that glowing red one, gorgeous. It must feel like you’ve come back down to earth with a bump after all that magic but the memories always live on.

  2. What fun! Just goes to show that you can make art out of anything. Great eye!

  3. Gorgeous images, love the first especially. ALso love the colours & shapes in the 3rd & last.

  4. Wow~! I really like the abstract Disney! These are some of my favorite images of yours. That last one is so cool.

  5. Brenda, you do see art everywhere. I love these Disney abstractions and am going to pass it on to my daughter, who is a Disney fanatic and artistic in her own right.

  6. Amazing photos – Disney with a Brenda touch, I love it!! So glad you had time to play with your family, we all need to top up our fairy dust sprinkles now and again. Happy Friday. 🙂

  7. You’ve captured your own bit of magic with your images. They are each spectacular. I recognize Spaceship Earth, of course, and am tempted to guess about some of your other photos, but I would probably be wrong. Regardless of where and what they are, it’s obvious you’ve made them your own. Good job!

  8. Delighted to know you had a wonderful time! The first image is my favorite. Gorgeous colors, shapes. Perfect against the black. Thank you for continuing to post comments on my blog. 🙂

  9. The first is my favorite too, but I love them all — especially the glowing red one. Wow!

  10. Oh my goodness, these are terrific, Brenda! I love seeing Disney World through your eyes! Sounds like you had lots of fun — congrats on the special occasions! The art deco images are wonderful, but my heart is drawn to those colorful circles. Thanks for sharing!

  11. What a unique and beautiful take on Disney! Your circles of light…fantastic! They just make me happy.

  12. Oh, Brenda. Only you could go to Disney and come back with images like these. You are an artist! That first one is my favorite.

  13. Oh, I love your view of Disney!! Spectacular views!!

  14. wonderful abstracts–recognizably unrecognizable!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

