Which Way the Wind Blows

Unlike her, the wind knew where it wanted to go. It swirled and puffed and gusted, spinning the vane round – first North, then South, followed by a quick turn to the East.

The wind didn’t think about the rightness of its path; nor look back to where it had been. The wind simply blew.

The wind paid no heed to labels or predictions or expectations. The wind simply was, in this moment. Not questioning or faltering or wavering.

She suspected she could learn a thing or two from the wind.

 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Texture Tuesday ProcessingLayers-Palette

  • Process the Pioneer Woman Photography Boost action to add sharpness and contrast
  • Process my mid-tone contrast action
  • Add the Woman image as a new layer. Position and transform, sizing to fit. Mask the background. Set Opacity to 25%
  • Add the Madlove texture. Set blend mode to Linear Burn.
  • Add the Stamped Right 2 texture and desaturate. Set blend mode to Color Burn.
  • Add an overall Levels adjustment to increase contrast.

Below are the original images used in the creation of this composite. The woman image is from the CD collection, Stage Beauties: Edwardian Theater and Silent Film Actresses.

Oct-9-Before

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

The next Third Thursday Challenge is October 18. What will your challenge be? 

Posted on October 9, 2012, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Love, love, love this Brenda. I could definitely learn a thing or two from the wind.

  2. I love the stage beauties that you’ve been using in your composites. Such a great era.

  3. Love is the key word here — a definite heart connection! Brava, Brenda!

  4. Gorgeous composition! Stunningly beautiful and evocative.

  5. Really a beautiful image, very nicely done!!

  6. So beautiful, love the texture work on it. I don’t think I’ve ever used the colour burn blending mode. And I haven’t done a composite either – maybe I should make that my 3rd Thursday challenge! Your’s always look so lovely and I love your words, so fitting.

    • Becs – oh yes, please do. Composite away – it’s fun and addicting. A perfect Third Thursday Challenge topic. And I always feel a little bit “out there” because the texture blend modes that I like are almost always Multiply or Color Burn or Linear Burn – ones that darken things up – while it seems like most people go in the other direction. I will be looking forward to what you come up with. Thanks so much for your kind comments.

  7. I just love seeing/hearing your creativity blossom!! 🙂
    Terrific!

  8. Always love these–love your result here too Brenda!

  9. Like Kathryn, I believe I could learn from the wind! I love the way you describe this sense of freedom and power. Beautiful.

  10. oh my… there is so much. this is exquisite in every way. makes me feel extraordinarily blessed to peek in and see the wonder through others’ eyes.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

