The Mill

The mill stands abandoned. All that remains is the weep of rust, the peel of paint; For Sale signs and rusted padlocks; grimy windows; weeds grown tall. Time and weather work their slow disintegration.

Gone is the high screeching whine of the buzz saw; the scent of fresh-cut pine; the gentle rain of sawdust. The hustle-and-bustle of production; the grinding gears of a loaded truck.

Now, all is quiet; there is only the hushed stillness of decay.

Texture Tuesday Processing Steps 

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette.
July-17-Before Layers-Palette


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen 

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. …the hushed stillness of decay…that’s beautiful as well as your capture!

  2. Love your treatment of this, the textures are gorgeous. Love your words too, so evocative.

  3. Brenda, this is gorgeous, the perfect treatment for this subject. I love the lines, like stair steps reaching into the sky.

  4. Great processing of this image with its stacks of rectangles, looking ready to tumble over.

  5. This one really caught my eye! Thanks for the link to the pencil sketch technique; I plan to play with this one. Your “weep of rust” is wonderful!

  6. Beautiful! Well seen and captured. Wonderful processing! Love those boxes stacked on top of each other, each with a slightly different personality.

  7. Perhaps ‘decay’ – of perhaps – a wonderful graphic composition and balance of elements. Well seen!

  8. Brenda, this is beautiful!
    Wonderful image and processing.
    I wonder what’s inside…. 🙂
    Have a great evening!

  9. I do like the apparent ‘stacking’ of the buildings atop one another. Beautifully processed too … I like what you’ve done with the place.

  10. Brenda,
    Such a beautiful image. I love how you processed this, it is perfect for that aged building.

  11. Wow! I love the image and the language — especially “the weep of rust.” Beautiful!!

  12. I love the shapes that make up this photos. Perfect textures! Beautiful!

  13. Wonderful treatment. It conveys a wonderful sense of history to the image.

  14. Old abandoned buildings have such a draw to them, maybe it’s the stories they hold.

  15. Wow your processing did amazing things to this. (I don’t know why I’m surprised; I guess I’m just in admiration-again). I love abandoned buildings. It seems like many photogs do. Wonder what that’s about. Have a good day Brenda.

  16. Your post is at least as amazing as your image is…each phrase was better than the one before it (the weep of rust, the peel of paint; the gentle rain of sawdust). Your words are as stark and spare as the image is, and just as stunning.

  17. THis is a beautiful images, love the warm tones. Your words are amazing too.

  18. You are so consistent in what you post. A true professional, making everything a treat for the senses, from chosen images to carefully placed words. This mill reminds me of one in Orem, Utah…or was there. It was the backdrop for the Kevin Bacon movie, Footloose. Your words and image really took me back in time. Kudos. I noticed you are listed on Pinterest. I am going to post a few of your photographs if you don’t mind. You have grown infinitely in your choice of beautifully shot photos, and prose. I am so happy there are so many “folks” who are following you.

  19. I absolutely adore abandoned buildings of any kind, you did such a wonderful job on this image.
    Laurie

  20. You can probably tell I’m catching up on visiting my favorite blogs today!! I love the way you captured this old mill and your processing is wonderful!

  21. Absolutely LOVE your post work here Brenda–your personal touches really enhanced this already cool shot.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

