Ten Things

Lately, a number of blogging buddies have shared ten things about themselves with their readers. Since I recently ruminated on the question “who am I?”, I thought I would join in. Without further ado, here are 10 things you have always wanted to know about me:

1.  I love chocolate in all its dessert forms – candy, pie, cake, ice cream, individually-wrapped Dove dark chocolate pieces – but I do not like chocolate milk. This cannot be explained in any logical fashion.

2.  In sixth grade gym class, I was the fastest girl in the “shuttle run” – 9.8 seconds. This involved running a set distance and placing a small wooden block into a square taped on the floor, then returning to the start and repeating the process. I have no idea what this was supposed to accomplish in terms of physical fitness goals. Considering the fact that I was NOT athletic in any sense, this feat was quite extraordinary.

3.  For the past 8 years, with only a few exceptions, I have eaten the same breakfast every morning – plain vanilla yogurt topped with Vanilla Almond Special K cereal. I am nothing if not a master of routine.

4.  I brush my teeth every time I eat. I carry a travel toothbrush and toothpaste in my purse. If ever marooned on a deserted island, I would want my toothbrush and toothpaste.

5.  My secret desire is to win the Mirror Ball trophy on Dancing with the Stars. Not for the accompanying fame but because I want to wear those gorgeous, flowing, sparkly gowns and move across the floor with grace and style.

6.  I have Flinstone feet. Wide and flat.  Ergo, unlike many woman, I do not have a love affair with shoes. This may keep me from achieving #5 – do those dancing shoes come in wide?

7.  Reading has been a passion since I was a child. If there was nothing else available, I read our World Book encyclopedias. Even today, random facts stick in my head from that time. Reading is still a big part of my life – the librarians at our local library know me by name.

8.  I detest bananas. Even today, my mom makes a separate bowl of her famous fruit salad for me – minus the offending fruit. When I was young, she tried to get me to eat bananas by coating them with sugar and cinnamon. I promptly licked off the good stuff and flushed the banana down the toilet. Undoubtedly, the only food on my deserted island would be bananas.

9.  I have short legs but can walk insanely fast.

10.  Before it was “Glee”-cool, I sang alto in our state-ranked high school choir. I had small parts in the musicals each year  – “Oklahoma!”, “Music Man” and “Lil’ Abner”. As a senior, during the annual “Nights on Broadway” choral extravaganza, I sang “Sister Suffragette” from Mary Poppins with two friends. We even created our own little dance number that drew wild applause from the audience (see #5).

Bonus fact: I am near-sighted in one eye; far-sighted in the other. Does this odd fact in some way account for my photographic viewpoint? Perhaps.

Thanks for playing along! This was a fun and light-hearted exercise which reminded me that we are all unique; that we all have stories to tell.

Posted on March 9, 2012, in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. He, he, he, so let me get this right . . . . . you have big flat feet and little legs but despite this can walk really fast although your dream is to dance in a glittery gown (just for the record I have little legs and can walk really fast too).

    You’re a bookwork with the ability to sing, you love chocolate but hate bananas yet no matter what time of day you have lovely lovely clean teeth.

    Oh and not forgetting that you have the inbuilt ability to see things from a different perspective with a blink of an eye!

    Love this, sitting here smiling. Thanks for sharing. :0)

    • Yes, Kathryn – you have me pegged. Full of quirks and contradictions. Secret, unobtainable desires. Isn’t it funny how when we put a list like this together we appear to be quite interesting creatures?
      Have to go – it’s time for me to race-walk to the bathroom so I can brush my teeth. I may just do a pirouette or two while I’m at it. 🙂

  2. It’s fun to learn a bit more about Brenda! I am totally with you on the dark chocolate, the dancing, the reading and walking fast. You must have perfect teeth! I wish I could sing — my family cringes when I try.
    This is an interesting exercise, I may have to try it. Have a great weekend!

    • Gina – well, I USED to be able to sing – or at least, I was good at harmonizing and blending – not much in the way of a soloist. Haven’t done it in years however so I guess that talent qualifies now as a lost art. I encourage you to give the “ten things” list a try – it is an interesting excercise.

  3. Must say I was so surprised when I opened your site and found this very un-Brenda photo. But now that I know about your chocolate love affair it makes much more sense. So fun to hear some of your backstory!

    • A girl’s gotta reserve the right to occasionally be “un-Brenda-like” – although judging by my record of routine living (see #3), springing a surprise is certainly NOT within my normal behavior. It’s nice to know I can pull a fast one on my readers 🙂

  4. Love it! Lovely to get to know you a bit better. I have the same secret desire as your #5 too…..my feet are on the small size though which has a rather detrimental effect on my sense of balance. Very un-Brenda photo (I thought my google reader had gone a bit bonkers!) but it looks delish. Thank you for sharing, it really made me smile. Have a lovely weekend. 🙂

    • Bringing smiles – that’s what ever blogger longs to hear! You with your small feet – me with my Flinstone feet – what a couple of contestants we would make. I just really want it for the gowns – all those sparklies and gorgeous colors – who can resist?

  5. Fun post, Brenda! Love learning a little be about you and yes, you made me smile also!!

  6. Brenda! I think you just shot a self-portrait, even if it was in words rather than with your camera. It was fun learning more about you – I see we have a few things in common. I may have to try this exercise myself. 🙂

  7. I loved reading this and learning more about you! How fun!

  8. I’ve been seeing these around..as well. What fun! Me too – I love chocolate..but not chocolate milk!

  9. Love the way that you write, loved reading this. I have big feet too which does ruin the love of shoes. Nice to find out som more about you.

  10. Brenda, what a fun read! I’m definitely with you on the chocolate, though I’ll take cake in almost any flavor. I especially enjoyed how you linked several of your traits together is some unexpected ways.

  11. Brenda. I love your list! And, I just want you to know that I can see the dancing..sparkly, mirror ball, the gown and all! With you speedy walker legs, and power feet, you could swirl across the floor like no other! Have a great day!

  12. I wonder how you chose the 10 things to write about. An interesting exercise.

    I, too, have short legs but walk fast!!
    I have short, very wide feet and mostly wear Crocs–wore them to a wedding once.
    I love chocolate.
    I didn’t begin to enjoy reading until my mid-30s, but love it now.
    I’ve never owned nor worn a floor length dress, and have never seen Dancing with the Stars–maybe you could dance barefoot!

    thanks for sharing!!!

  13. Love this!! I match you with chocolate and books, but I’m a terrible runner and I love bananas.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

