Support System

An unexpected yet extraordinary by-product of this blogging experience has been the online connections I have forged over the past year. Connections with photographers who have turned this experiment of mine into a two-way conversation and dialogue, rather than a one-sided communication. Individuals who have become my artistic support system; who offer encouragement and inspiration as well as understand the highs and lows of the creative journey.

Thank you for that. For the comments and input and feedback. For supporting my efforts to experiment. For sharing your struggles and triumphs. For asking for my help when you thought I had something to share. For your sense of humor. For being here, even in the middle of your hectic lives.

For like these pillars, even slightly weathered and worn, we can hold each other up.

Texture Tuesday Processing

  • Run “Old West” action by Pioneer Woman Photography
  • Run my midtone contrast action to highlight the texture of the stonework
  • Increase overall contrast with a levels adjustment
  • Add Happy Heart Texture, blend mode = Color Burn and opacity = 33%

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette.

Layers-Palette

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday 

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I feel the same way . . . I often wonder how different I would be if I had chosen not to blog. The support I have received online has been amazing and through the encouragement of my blogging buddies I have grown in ways I never even imagined. Love the image you chose to represent your sentiments. Beautiful.

  2. what a wonderful post! i feel the same way, It is so nice to meet other wonderful people around the world! beautiful image and processing!

  3. Your image is a perfect example of the use of textures to improve a photo. While I really like the original (I love architectural images) and wouldn’t think it could be improved, after seeing the second with its rich colors and texture, the original seems a faded version. I really like your results!

  4. Thank you, Brenda, for being such an inspiration and part of my support system! I think that the friendships are one of the best parts of this blogging experience. Your image is beautiful, and so perfect for your thoughts!

  5. What a a perfect image to illustrate your words!

  6. what an awesome post!! it is amazing the kindred spirits one finds in this space.

  7. I agree, Brenda, the same is true for me. And you’d probably be surprised at how often I look at a potential subject and think, “Oh, that’s a Brenda shot!” My “Brenda shots” seldom meet the mark, but I’m inspired to try, anyway. 🙂

    I really like how your post-processing on this image has brought out the texture of the columns, the weathering and moss. Now they look like relics of antiquity.

  8. You’ve done a great job of enhancing this photo–making it into all it can be. And your words–just perfect!

  9. I completely agree. My photoblog has connected me with so many excellent photographers and generous people. Whoever said the internet was isolating was wrong.

    Like Lee above, I see “Brenda photos” and try to capture them. You have expanded my world and vision.

    Lovely image, perfect for your comment.

  10. Beautiful match of image & words, these pillars look very strong.

  11. Beautiful image and sweet words.

  12. I know exactly what you mean. I never knew that starting a blog could lead to such wonderful friendships!! A wonderful image to illustrate your words!!

  13. Love your post processing here. And – yes – isn’t it great to be the pillars of support and inspiration to one another? It’s a strange..and beautiful world!

  14. You are so thoughtful. This is such a lovely post. You have been an inspiration to me. You make composing pictures look so easy. I’ve enjoyed viewing your images this past, almost, year. Keep ’em coming.

    • Laurie – thank you so much for your very sweet comment – I appreciate it so much that you keep coming back, following along with my little blogging adventure. I can’t think of anything more satisfying than knowing you have been inspired by my work.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

