Fables on Ice

The second installment of Wing-Feather Fables was originally scheduled for release today. Unfortunately, Lisa, my partner-in-crime and writer- extraordinaire, suffered a severe concussion during a fall. She was walking the dog, slipped on the winter ice and clunked her head a good one. You can read her account of the incident here. Since her bruised brain needs a rest, the publication of fable #2 has been delayed indefinitely.

During her convalescence, Lisa is unable to spend much time reading or writing. The computer is especially difficult,  her vision “bouncing on the page, making word soup, a letter jumble”. She has become a writer who cannot write. Words are now the enemy instead of the daily currency of  her occupation.

We all understand intellectually how life can change in a matter of seconds. And yet, do we really know what it would mean if we couldn’t be the “who” we are, even temporarily? If we were forced by circumstance to forgo those things we love?

My days are filled with reading, writing, creating images and doing graphic design work for Nest. 80% of my time is spent in front of either my computer monitor or my camera’s LCD screen. This is who I am, post-retirement – bathed in the soft glow of the monitor, hands on the keyboard or finger on the shutter button. My primary communication is done via email or texts or tweets or blog posts or comments or uploads to Flickr. Silent except for the clack of the keys, the click of the shutter.

With what would I fill my days if all this was taken from me?

And so, I will be grateful for this, my routine day, spent doing the things I love. And send healing thoughts to my friend Lisa, in celebration of all the fables yet to come.

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about Lisa, I read about her fall last week but had no idea it would put her out of action for so long. Sending lots of prayers her way. I love your words, things like this do make you really stop and be grateful for all the things we often take for granted. Beautiful image to accompany your post and rest assured that we will be still be here, ready to welcome the new fables when they are ready to be told. x

  2. Sorry to hear about Lisa. I read about it on her blog. And – yes – a lesson in gratitude. To stop and take notice and be grateful for all that we have in our ordinary days!

  3. Oh, I am so sorry to hear about Lisa’s fall! Everything can change in an instant, yet we rarely appreciate our health until something goes wrong. Ever since my back healed after two years of pain, I feel such gratitude for the simple act of standing. Carpe diem!

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about Lisa’s fall. Sending love and light her way. Your words and beautiful photograph are a gentle reminder to stay present to the gifts of each moment, and to all that we have. As for the fables, as Becs say, we’ll be here when ever it’s time for them to take flight again.

  5. WHAT A MISFORTUNE HAS BEFALLEN LISA. WE HAVE A SON WHO HAD SEVERAL SERIOUS CONCUSSIONS DO TO HIS DARE DEVIL DO ON SKIS OR BIKES….LAST TIME HE REALIZED HE WAS REALLY TAKING A CHANCE…AND SETTLED DOWN. BUT TO FALL, SO UNEXPECTEDLY, AND SO HARD, IS SOMETHING THAT CAN’T BE PREVENTED. I SEND MY HEAVEN WISHES ALONG WITH OTHERS FOR HER QUICK RECOVERY….OH, WHAT A HEADACHE, SO SAD. SHARON

  6. Hi Brenda (and Lisa whenever she is up to reading these comments),

    I feel so out of the loop. First off, congratulations on such a wonderful creative collaboration. I felt it was inevitable as the two of you seemed to form an instant creative cohort bond from the ‘get go’. It’s amazing and wonderful when those friendships form. Your readership will also be very blessed with all the Fables you two extremely talented artists deliver to us!

    I’m so sorry to hear about Lisa’s fall. I sure hope she heeds the medical advice and takes the time to recuperate sufficiently. Brenda, please extend my well wishes to her and I really, really hope she’ll make a full, speedy recovery.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

