Seeking Space

Golden-Triangle
 

Negative space is a key element of artistic composition. It is the space around and between the subject of an image which gives the eye a “place to rest”.

In the image above, the sapphire sky surrounds the golden triangle as it thrusts upward into the endless blue. This blue space transforms into its own geometric shape and gives this image room to breathe. The subject and space partner together in a dynamic dance of balance.

As such, this photograph is the symbol of my desires for 2012.

For me, the greatest gift of my retirement has been time. Time to seek and follow the next creative impulse. To reside inside that infinite, quiet space where art is born.

Space to think; space to create; space to be. After the hustle and bustle of the holiday season, I recognize my need for quiet; for a withdrawal from the chaotic swirl of outside obligations; for the opportunity to hear my own thoughts.

This space is what I need to be creative. Without that surrounding defining emptiness, my imagination falls silent, drowned out by the noise and distractions.

Here I am, stepping over the threshold into a new year. Seeking, ever upward, into that wild blueness. Embracing the positive and the negative, which together create the whole.

What is it you seek in this new year?

 

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Love your words. I’ve just posted on what I’m seeking this year too and yet when you talk about space I realise this is probably something I need and have completely overlooked. I was struck earlier in the year about how little negative space is in my photography – I guess that’s a reflection of my life too…..as ever I come away from your blog with more to think about. Thank you for such a thought provoking post and I really love that image.

  2. What an absolutely stunning capture! I LOVE this photo…the symmetry is so pleasing to the eye, and also the brilliant color of the sky. Your words are lovely, and I agree…space to think is an absolute necessity when being creative. This year, I seek to learn as much as I can about photography and the editing process – it’s my new passion! Thanks for sharing your image and thoughts.

  3. Love the balance created in this image, something to strive for for sure.

  4. Brenda, I am so glad that you are relishing the gift of time and space. This is something I have been lucky to have for quite some time now. I can sometimes become too attached to the quiet, and then not act. So, for this year I am concentrating on focused action, yet it needs to be balanced with contemplation.

  5. Hi Brenda-Love this pie in the sky. The blue and yellow contrasting colors are wonderful. Negative space can be so powerful in images. I need to be better about including it. Filling the frame is one thing, but the breathing space is another great technique to remember.
    Ove the past week +/- I’ve had some days off with no “have tos”. It’s amazing how much happier I’ve been and how much more creative. I’m certain the two go hand in hand. I envy you your time and how you choose to use it.
    PS…I zipped over to the community college and signed up for digital imaging II today. Giving myself a little challenge. thanks for a push.

  6. Hi, Brenda..Love your photograph and your words to go with it! Seeking space – I know what you mean! Space creates room to pause and breath..and create. I definitely want more space in my life for this, and this year, I hope to find it! Thank you for showing/leading the way.

  7. So simple…so powerful…so true.
    “Embracing the positive and the negative, which together create the whole.”

    That elegantly sums up my 2011. We stopped the merry-go-round and created space for ourselves…each of us in our own creative empty space and yet connected, intertwined. It was life changing and challenging. It was simple yet not easy. We’ve grown, expanded and flourished.

    This year? Controlled connection…

  8. What a wonderful and symbolic metaphor for where you’re at these days. I so get this need for space..for vast endless open space in which you can just ‘be’. Aaaah…now if only ‘life’ would leave me alone!!!
    Wonderful abstract..and such gorgeous rich color!!

  9. Oh, how I long for time and space! I keep telling myself, “Soon.”

    This is a particularly beautiful slice of Pie in the Sky, Brenda. The colors, the just-right light and shadow, the repeating lines and shapes — I love it all. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

  10. What a beautiful post this is Brenda!
    I truly enjoyed reading it.
    Fantastic image too.
    Love the composition and that wonderful blue sky.

  11. Oh, how true. This year, I’m making a resolution to carve out more of that quiet space through meditation. It doesn’t come naturally to me! We’ll see how it goes.

  12. I know I’ve said this to you before, but damn, you make retirement look SO GOOD. I want to go to there. I want space!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

