Back to My Roots

Most of you know me as an architectural and abstract photographer.  You have been here with me as I have explored shadows, windows, reflections and “pie-in-the-sky” triangles. My love of geometry and line. The beauty of form and texture. The man-made and urban. Exploring the face of the city.   

But I began my photography career with nature.  With walks around my neighborhood. Capturing macros of flowers and weeds and seed pods. Leaves on the street. Snow and ice and frost. Dew and raindrops. All the wonders of nature, in every season, as found within the confines of my suburban life.

On this photo walk, after taking shots of the golden glowing windows above, I came to the corner of the building. It was bordered by an empty, weed-choked lot, surrounded by a rusting chain-link fence. The morning sunlight backlit the weeds and the windows glowed blue with reflected sky. And I couldn’t resist.

Couldn’t resist a nature shot. Something I haven’t taken in months.

And I thought about how I often put limits on myself, boxing myself in to a certain type of shot.

On the one hand, I like having a plan of action, a goal, for my daily shooting. I like having parameters to work within. It keeps me from being paralyzed by too many options.

But at the same time, as I looked upon this scene, I found my internal dialog going something like this: “You are an urban photographer. You don’t do nature anymore. Why are you spending time setting up shots like this?”

And then, I pressed the shutter anyway.

So here I am, back to my roots. Where it all began.

Thanks to my friend Susan, of Happy No Ears, who has demonstrated to me, time and time again, the beauty of golden light.

 

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh..this is exquisite!! And – I’ve been just in exactly the same place as you…’labeling’ myself as one ‘type’ of photographer or another. Slowly – I’m learning that it’s not all black and white or one or the other. We can wear many hats at the same time..and have fun!!

  2. These are absolutely beautiful. I know what you mean about labels – maybe we should just have an ever growing bunch of labels rather than sticking with just one! I love your abstracts but these are gorgeous too – looking forward to seeing more!

  3. We can get so caught up in the labels that we miss out. Glad you pressed the shutter button anyway. Beautiful.

  4. So glad to see that you went back to your roots….the results are beautiful! I also wrestle with myself about what I should be photographing. I need to remind myself to try new things.

  5. All of these images are stunning… and I love the words you shared here. That second image is my favorite, the window in the background and the foliage in front…just lovely.

  6. I have been thinking about how easy it is to become a prisoner of the rules we make up about ourselves. Congratulations on stepping out of the box and shooting what was lovely to you. It all works.

  7. Go, Brenda! I love these. Once again, you’ve spun straw into gold.

  8. These are all beautiful. Love your ‘nature ‘ shots as much as I love the 1st windows. Beautiful.

  9. gorgeous nature images!!

  10. I love these images, and the reminder to break out of the limits I unconsciously set for myself. Thanks 🙂

I greatly appreciate your comments!

