Assimilation

2011-11-23

assimilation as·sim·i·la·tion n.

the process of taking into the mind;
to thoroughly comprehend

Today marks the publication of my 100th post. A milestone, indeed, in the life of a blog.

What have I assimilated in the past 10 months? About myself and my art? What do I now “thoroughly comprehend”?

I no longer fear the blank white screen, the patiently blinking cursor. After all, I have one hundred examples – proof the words will eventually come. When I began blogging, I wrote my entries in advance, panicking when a deadline approached without a publish-ready post in hand. The writing process still frustrates, still challenges, still baffles. But inside, there is the tiny spark that knows: I can do this.

Writing is best done with a copy of the “Oxford Mini-reference Thesaurus” within easy reach.

I have found my voice. When I began, I wasn’t sure I even had a “voice”. Who was the “me” that would come to this online party?  As it turns out, I’m rather fond of this virtual me. Here I am not plagued with shyness and a general awkwardness with social interaction. I have time to contemplate my feelings and reactions; time to compose my thoughts, into a semblance of coherence. And while I understand there is something personal missing from a virtual connection, this form of sharing still feels authentic to me.

I understand that my art need only please myself. That I recognize myself in its reflection. If it is meaningful to me, then it is meaningful. It is art, simply because I created it. Like the image above – of soap bubbles in the soap dispenser. Beauty in the small, the ordinary.

I learned that all art is subjective. The hard part is learning as much from my negative or ambivalent feelings toward art that I don’t like as from the art which makes my heart sing.

This process is about community. Obvious, it’s true. We blog to be heard; to share; to engage. While I would most likely continue even if only read by my family, it is the interaction with my readers that has been the greatest gift. Thank you to each and everyone of you.

Thanks to Kat and my “Find Your Eye” classmates – a significant percentage of my 100 posts were written in response to class prompts. Those exercises expanded my knowledge of myself as an artist and photographer; challenged my assumptions; helped me define my creative eye. Through our work together, my online neighborhood has been greatly widened to encompass a group of fellow artists who inspire me daily with their own artistic journeys.

What do you say? Shall we go for 100 more?

Linking with The Creative Exchange

Posted on November 28, 2011, in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Isn’t it amazing what we learn in the ‘process’ of creating?..in putting ourselves out there?…in seeking our ‘vision’ and our ‘voice’???
    Congratulations on your first 100…looking forward to seeing where the next 100 will lead!!

  2. I say with a resounding YES! Let’s go for 100 more. Right there with you!

    Excellent image!

  3. Happy blogoversary! 100 is a good number, but I hope you continue. You have such a gift for writing, as well as photography. Isn’t this virtual community the best?

  4. Happy 100th! I look forward to many more 100s with you.

  5. Congrats on reaching 100. I agree with the others: at least 100 more.

  6. Congratulations on 100 posts, and I look forward to the next 100 Brenda!

    Thank you so much for sharing at The Creative Exchange today.

    Have a great evening!

    lisa.

  7. At least another 100! I’m right there with you too. 🙂 I love your image – I’m a fan of beauty in the ordinary too. Loving being part of the neighbourhood and looking forward to the next 100+. Happy 100th!

  8. “Beauty in the small, the ordinary” — I love this line and this idea. It’s what I strive for as well.
    Thanks for the first 100 and “yes, please” to 100 more.

  9. I can only say Amen to all of the above comments! And I LOVE that photo!!

  10. Congratulations on your milestone!
    I love this image!

  11. Congratulations on the milestone! Love this abstract–wonderful vision to find this gem

  12. Congratulations on your 100th post!

  13. Well, congrats…100 posts!! I just can’t imagine you struggling with words, you write wonderful blog posts!! I’m enjoy being a part of your community!!

  14. Congratulations on 100 blog posts! Now that is an accomplishment. I am just starting out and still trying to figure out what my blog wants to be when it grows up.

    Your picture is very intriguing…really caught my eye and very fitting for this entry.

  15. Yes indeed this is a milestone. But more than just numbers. Your 100 postings are QUALITY images and words. No fluff and filler. Just pure wonderful works. You are amazing…..can’t wait to see what the next 100 bring to you and your followers. smiles: sharon

I greatly appreciate your comments!

