Do Not Block Doors

Nov-22

Do you ever wish you had a sign like this? One you could hang on the doors of your imagination, your creativity? One that would keep the cold winds of indecision and doubt and second-guessing at bay?

For those times when the ideas won’t come? When the cursor blinks its steady rhythm, mocking your inability to string words together? When your images fail to excite? When you can’t find the key to unlock the door?

If only there was a sign. One that lets your fears know – “you can’t park there.”

One that would keep those doors unblocked, letting in the light and the joy and the laughter. So that you could always find your way back to that place where inspiration and creativity reside.

Do Not Block Doors. I’m off to hang a sign.

Texture Tuesday Processing

 

  • Duplicate the image, setting blend mode to Soft Light
  • Add a color-fill layer, setting blend mode to Multiply and opacity to 25% to add warmth
  • Run midtone contrast action to bring out the peeling paint texture
  • Add a vignette to the bottom of the image
  • Desaturate the Portrait texture, setting the blend mode to Multiply and opacity to 80%
  • Desaturate the Golden texture, setting the blend mode to Color Burn
  •  Add a levels adjustment layer to increase overall contrast

 Linking in with Kim Klassen’s Texture Tuesday

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love the texturing treatment you gave this image, it’s gorgeous. I could definitley use one of those signs right about now!

  2. A wonderful sign..and one that I wish we all had. Love your processing technique. Truly special!

  3. Your processing really gives the sign the pop it needed. You are so good about sharing how you did it too. Great message too!

  4. Brenda, you are a post-processing genius! As usual, I was shocked to get to the end of your post and see the image you started with. I’m not usually impressed with the whole texture trend, but somehow it always works for you. I also like the artistic flair of that sign itself. To my eye it has a bit of an Art Deco flavor.

    Excellent message, too. I’m going to hang up my own sign.

    Oh, yeah, I love your shadow gallery, too!

  5. Great texture work! And an inspiring message, too. 🙂

  6. You had me with the photo, and then came your first paragraph. Wow! I think I needed this one today. Thanks for sharing your photographic skills and these words.

  7. Your texturing fits your writing & photo perfectly! I’ve been reflecting and wondering about so much. What I needed to hear and then do is to stop blocking the doors…so thank you! This message was perfect for today.

  8. Hi Friend-
    Stopping by for an overdue visit. Love the sign, love the thoughts behind it. We should all have one of these signs posted in our creative work spaces. How wise of you to be able to see that transfer from sign to creative block. You’re so smart. Tha’ts why I like you!!
    Happy Thanksgiving.

  9. Feeling this right now too!…..love your texture use, it has really transformed the image, thanks for sharing your process too. I’m just starting to get into texture, but still have lots to learn!

  10. I love what you did here.
    Thank you so much for sharing the process!

  11. I like how you processed this photo, it adds such a lot to the image- & such interesting thoughts on blocked doors.

  12. Nice work on this image and I love your thoughts on signs!

  13. very neat image and thanks so much for posting the processing… wonderful slections and choices. thank you, kareninkenai (TT)

  14. I love (and needed) this message. Thanks. The winds have been cold lately.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

