Pie in the Sky: Redux

2011-11-19

Last week, I introduced my latest obsession series – these triangles of architecture which have seized my imagination of late. “Seizing” is an accurate assessment of what has happened to my creativity controls – I can’t seem to shoot anything but these pieces of geometric pie. I have been taken over, possessed – I see in triangles. What is it about these wedges that I find so appealing?

There is, of course, the geometry – a sharp triangle, cleaving the sky, slicing the negative space. Then there is the abstract nature of the framing – a celebration of strong shapes and lines. There is the composition – strongly balanced – the left and right sides, mirror images. There is boundless variety and an infinite menu of different flavors.

The images point upward – symbolically encouraging growth or movement or accomplishment. To reach for the stars and our dreams. To achieving new heights of imagination.

Today we celebrate “pie”. And the gift of photographic inspiration. To being overtaken.

Tell me : what is your favorite flavor?

2011-11-12

2011-11-13

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I love it when something has us ‘possessed’! I typically steer away from geometric shapes, they don’t usually speak to me, your images might just make me change my mind though. Openwork Pie was the one I found myself drawn too, gorgeous.

    • Kathryn – I can’t think of a greater compliment than to know my geometric shapes spoke to you – especially since that is outside your norm. So I doubly appreciate your sticking with me through my latest triangle “obsession”.

  2. Brenda, I love your latest obsession so much! As I scroll down, I just keep saying, “WOW!” over and over. My favorite flavor is your Lined Wedge.

    For eating, it would have to be cherry, or peach, or blueberry, or pumpkin, or….well, you get the idea. 🙂

    • Lee – ah, a pie obsession of your own I see? Then it is a good thing Thanksgiving is just around the corner, with all its pie opportunities. Of the eating variety, I would have to go with coconut. Or anything with chocolate.

  3. So glad you can find buildings that allow you to indulge in your obsession. Such dramatic lines — I love the symmetry too. My favorite is the Openwork Pie. The bright blue rectangles inside the triangle just make me smile. Beautiful!

    And now I’m craving a piece of apple pie, darn it!

    • Gina – so grateful to have made you smile. It is rather amazing to me that there are so many different varieties of “pie” out there – who knew? I hope you were able to satisfy your apple pie craving.

  4. So awesome. Love the tenacity with which you pursue your eye, or are seized by it.

    • Corinna – One advantage of being a series photographer is that I can walk the same streets multiple times – each time looking for my latest obsession. Walking once for shadows, then going back for windows, then reflections, now “pieces of pie”. There is always something more to see, isn’t there? When you are seeing through your lens?

  5. All of these are great Brenda, but I am going to go with “Openwork” for its simplicity. Really love that shot!

    • Lisa – I have found myself moving more and more into abstract simplicity as an overridding principle. I still have much to learn in that regard – to be able to compose in such a way that only the essence of the subject is included in the frame. But yes, “Openwork” is one of those successful experiments.

  6. Save me a slice of openwork pie…
    Now you are going to have me looking for triangles. Does obsessive photography pass from person to person???

    Love all these images, Brenda.

    • Deb – yes, I’m sorry to say that photographic obsessions are highly contagious. And there is no cure, I’m afraid. Be sure to show me your triangles.
      And there is plenty of “Openwork” pie to go around.

  7. Love, love, love these Brenda. They are so geometrically perfect, but then I expect no less from you. 🙂 By the way, we watched Serenity tonight after finishing Firefly this week. I’ve been a little bit obsessed with watching them. So sad it’s over and so sad about WASH!!

    • Kat – I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Firefly universe. When you enthusiastically recommend a TV show or movie to someone, there is always that fear that they will simply hate it, or worse, be ambivalent – as we have seen through our FYE studies, art is subjective, yes? So it is extremely gratifying to me that it turned into an obession for you – which I completely understand. My overridding wish is that Whedon would someday be able to continue telling the stories – there is so much left to cover.

  8. I too love the openwork pie. I think the blue of the sky against the white of the building captured my attention. Thank you for opening my eyes to a whole new world.

    • Ginny – from the responses, I’m going to have to bake another “Openwork” pie 🙂 Thanks for weighing in with your choice. I think that is one of the great benefits of sharing our work – we gain as artists from seeing and experiencing the work of others.

  9. It’s incredible how many of these pie-wedged shapes you’ve found. And – I’m particularly intrigued by your analysis of why you’re obsessed!

    • Marcie – it is the same as when you are pregnant and suddenly you see pregnant women everywhere. Or you buy a new car and the road is magically filled with that make and model. Something changes in the way you see – you get attuned to looking for that certain something That is what has happened with me and these wedges. For now, I’ll follow this obsession to wherever it may lead.

  10. These are great- i like a bit of colour so I think cherry pie is my favourite!

  11. I can’t pick a favorite. I love them all, and your eye.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

