Exit Stage Right

Exit

 

Together, we have reached the end of our “Journey of Recognition” online e-course – Kat, our intrepid leader, and my Find Your Eye classmates. And so, it is time to reflect; to integrate what I have discovered over the past month  on this journey in search of my creative “eye”.

During our time together, I stretched my creative wings by stepping outside my comfort zone. I challenged myself and my assumptions about what kind of photographer I am. I battled with the “golden hour”. I shot with intention. I sought myself through the art of others. I studied my own images for patterns, commonalities, themes.

I tested my internal rules. I defined my style. I declared my love of editing. I wrote from the heart. I studied trends. I built walls of my own frustration. I scaled new heights of creativity. I discovered windows. I celebrated shadows.

A loner by nature, the greatest gift of our time together was my connection with my fellow travelers. They constantly challenged me; supported me; commiserated with my frustrations; celebrated my triumphs and “ah-ha” moments. They shared their wisdom, their questions, their yearnings. I learned from their struggles, their insights, their truths. Together we dug deep; we had breakthroughs and realizations. We made each other smile. And think.

 And while the curtain has gone down on this particular production, I am certain the effects will be long-lasting. Because during this journey, I recognized myself. The me that is now a photographer.

Want to find out more about the “Find Your Eye” course series? You can view all the details here. Come join me for the October “Journey of Inspiration” course, another four weeks of inspiration and creativity.  

Posted on September 16, 2011, in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. So beautiful Brenda! The connections made in this class were amazing to me too. I love how you all were able to be completely and totally “you,” and encouraged each other from that place. I think this is the best way to connect. I loved seeing your growth and your “a-has” through your words and photos. It was wonderful to witness your journey and I can’t wait to see where you go next, come October! Thank you for your participation and point of view!

    • Kat,
      Thank you for providing the map and the rest stops and the leadership. For making us think. And then think again. I look forward to October.

  2. Well, Brenda, you scared me with your title — Glad to read it’s only the end of the class! Your reflection is so comprehensive. So many of us connected with your posts because you do write from the heart. Wonderful journey of discovery! Looking forward to seeing more window images from you. Hasta pronto!

    • Gina,
      How sweet to know that I would have been missed for the next class! Part of me hesitated about signing up – I didn’t want to spend the money – but then I decided that I deserved it 🙂

      I continue to shoot plenty of window images – I’m sure you will be tired of them by the time I am done. I look forward to continuing our journey together.

  3. What a great sum up of the course- it has been a great journey hasn’t it? It was really good to share in it with you!

    • Leanne,
      It has been a good journey – I am so grateful to have been a part of it. Thanks for your comments and support throughout.

  4. Brenda,
    This is beautifully written! I’m thankful that we shared (and will continue to share) the experience. Love your statement that you now see yourself as a photographer! I totally understand that.

  5. Ah, this is so well written! It’s been an amazing journey for me as well! I can’t wait to see where we go from here!

    • Cathy – thank you for your compliment – it is much appreciated. I too am looking forward to more challenges and photographic inspiration by walking with the rest of you on this journey.

  6. What a fabulous summary! Kat’s classes & BLOG are so inspirational! I “lost steam” when the school year started! urgghh! so my learning will continue without the benefit of everyone’s comments. I appreciate your comments on my blog, and hope you’ll visit me often.
    Your shadow pics are so beautiful that I check your blog a couple of times a week… and I learn a lot from your comments. In addition to “being a photographer” you are also a “teacher”…

    • Christine,
      Well, sometimes life gets in the way and you just have to go forward from there. I will keep following along via your blog so you won’t be doing it completely alone 🙂

      I’m glad that you find my pics and words an inspiration and deeply gratified that I have things to teach – I can’t think of a better compliment. I am thankful to know that you will continue to following along with me.

  7. I’ve loved following your journey and you made me question and think about my own photography skills. Your blog is an inspiration.

  8. Beautifully written. I’m not quite at the end as I still have a few assignments to go. I really hope that I will be able to ‘recognize myself’ in my photography at the end too. I am definitely much further forward than I was before, though, that’s for sure! Thank you for all your comments and support. Your photography and blog are both real inspirations – you are making me look and think about things that I hadn’t considered before.

    • Becs,
      What a wonderful compliment – to know that my words helped you think about things in a new way. That has been the best thing about this class – the interaction between the participants. I will keep following along as you work your way through the rest of the assignments – seeing what I can learn from you and your journey.

  9. It sounds like a great experience. Yeah!

    • Lisa,
      It really was – an opportunity to think and share with other like-minded artists. A virtual “writers group” for photographers.

  1. Pingback: Share Your View: The Color Wheel, Part 1 | Kat Eye Studio

I greatly appreciate your comments!

