In Words and Pictures

Words

 

word [wurd] n.

a unit of language,
consisting of one or more spoken sounds or their written representation,
that functions as a principal carrier of meaning.

When I started this blog, I didn’t really think about words. About the fact that blogging implied putting words together on a regular basis with a certain degree of competence. Using those words to communicate something. Something that my readers might find amusing or helpful or even inspirational. That might strike a common chord about this creative journey that we walk together.

I didn’t think about the fact that sometimes the words don’t come. That the page remains blank, for all my attempts to cobble something together; something worthy of the Publish button. Half-formed ideas and random phrases float through my mind but fail to coalesce into meaningful shape, with a beginning and an end. Something of substance.

My creative work is primarily visual; expressed through the photographic language of line, form, texture and color. So, if it is true that a picture is worth a thousand words, then today I will have to let my image speak for me. It must be my voice because I’ve got nothing else.

What do you do when words escape you?

Texture Tuesday Steps

An image of geometry; of symbols. Dark and light; yin and yang; of balance. Enhanced with mysterious text. What is the message?

  • Duplicated the original image, Soft Light blend mode
  • Processed my Midtone Contrast action
  • Aurora Texture, Linear Burn blend mode
  • Aurora Texture, Color Burn blend mode. Using the transform function, this layer was stretched so that the text in the bottom right corner was sized to fill up that section of the image. A mask was added to eliminate the texture from the dark half.
  • Aurora Texture, Linear Burn blend mode, opacity=65%. Again, using the transform function, the text in the top right was sized to fill up that section. A mask was added so that only that portion of the texture showed through.
  • Levels adjustment to increase overall contrast
Posted on July 19, 2011, in Photography, Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Love your use of texture . . . I can definitely relate to days when the words don’t come!

    • Kathryn,
      Kind of amusing that we have taken on this blogging persona which is all about words and then have to struggle with finding them. I guess that is all part of the growth and process.

  2. Beautiful texture work!! 🙂

    • Linda – thanks so much for “using your words” and commenting 🙂 Since this week’s post was rather a struggle, I especially appreciate your feedback.

  3. Absolutely amazing!! As much as I love words…I, too, turn to pictures when words sometimes fail…and even when they don’t:)

    • Leah – it’s a good thing we can turn to images when the words are stuck inside. Thanks for letting me know that you sometimes suffer the same blocks as me.

  4. Your ‘abstracts’ *always* catch my eye on TT 🙂 Wonderful!

    • What a wonderful compliment! I realize that my work is slightly outside the TT “norm” so it is very gratifying to know that it speaks to you. We have to make the images that are meaningful to us and our own unique vision, don’t we?

  5. Your creativity is inspiring! I have never seen your images before- they are wonderful! Wow!

    • Melinda,
      Welcome! So glad that you stopped by. There isn’t anything more rewarding than to inspire someone else – I am so glad that my images did that for you. I appreciate so much that you let me know. Do come back again.

  6. Wow! You are something, girl! This is so cool! Mine doesn’t look much different than the original this time. Still learning…that reminds me, I’ve got to get back to Kim’s skinny mini eCourse! Running behind this week.
    Take care!
    XoXoXo
    Joy

    • Joy,
      Often the subtle approach is the best one. I worry sometimes that I take things too far in the other direction, making things too intense. But I suppose that is part of the experimentation and learning. Enjoy Kim’s class!

  7. Wonderful Texture Tuesday post! Thank you for all the info – definition and recipe!!

    • Pat – you are very welcome – I hope the information will be useful to you in some future project. This is the reason that I participate in TT – the sense of camaraderie and sharing of the participants.

  8. I love this! I adore abstracts and the color is beautiful. Beautiful beautiful!

    • Laurie,

      Thank you so much for your comment. I’m glad we share a love of abstracts. I have always been attracted to geometry and lines and forms. Sometimes I wonder if anyone else will “get” it when I take photos like these so your feedback is especially appreciated..

I greatly appreciate your comments!

