A Cup of Joe

This week’s “Texture Tuesday” posed a slight challenge for yours truly. In addition to the normal requirement to utilize one of Kim’s textures, we were also provided with a subject: “Your photo must be of a coffee cup or tea cup“. Okay, that doesn’t sound so difficult, does it? Well, except for the fact that I don’t drink coffee or tea, preferring to obtain my daily dose of caffeine cold (via generic Dr. Pepper). As a result, my collection of coffee and tea cups numbers exactly zero. Thus, extreme measures were called for.

Option 1:  Approach stranger in restaurant and politely obtain permission to photograph their coffee cup
Option 2: Ask for a coffee cup (but no coffee) with restaurant meal
Option 3: Lurk at the local Starbucks

Luckily, I was able to avoid lurking. Last week, I attended a NAAP Photoshop seminar. And what does every seminar provide for workshop participants? Coffee! Since most of the people in attendance were photographers, I received only a few strange looks as I was kneeling beside the coffee table snapping photographs.

As with last week’s image, I utilized the Pencil Sketch technique in order to define the image lines. Three of Kim’s textures were layered on top, each using a different blend mode to add depth. I allowed some of the original image to show through on the left side in order to enhance the actual paper cups. On the right, you are seeing the reflections of the cups in the metal coffee urn so I let those fade into the background textures.

In my view, the original image isn’t anything special. In fact, it is slightly out of  focus and normally would have ended up in the delete pile. But with some Photoshop experimentation, I was able to create an artistic “keeper”.  I doubt that a stack of paper coffee cups is what Kim had in mind with this challenge but I should get points for unusual, right?

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Wonderful story! AND photo. I did wonder about the folks who don’t do the coffee/tea thing. I used to be one of you, then I crossed over.

    • Renee – I tried coffee in my youth but had to add so much sugar to make it palatable that actually drinking it seemed rather counter-intuitive. I do enjoy the smell of coffee and the ambience of coffee shops. Just not the actual taste. I’m glad that you enjoyed my little coffee story – I really appreciate that you stopped by – please do come back!

  2. Wow I really love this. What a fun use of the prompt word! Your edits really did make the photo come back from the delete pile 😉

    • Jenny – while it is extremely satisfying to take a good photo, there is something really rewarding about creatively “saving” a so-so image. One of the many things that I love about the “Texture Tuesday” exercise – the push it gives me to try something new. Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to comment. I really do appreciate hearing from new readers and hope you will stop by again.

  3. Very cool cup of joe…love it!!

    • As a non-coffee drinker, I’m not sure the rules allow me to use the familiar term “cup of joe” for this beverage. That’s probably only allowed for those individuals who partake on a daily basis. Appreciate the “cool” comment!

  4. Wonderful composition and texture work here!
    Happy to have found/followed you!! 🙂
    LOVE that you used paper cups here!!

    • Linda – in my position as a non-coffee drinker, I had no choice but to find a creative way to interpret this week’s TT instructions. Lucky for me, the rest of the world needs their morning coffee fix and I was able to take advantage of that fixation. Please stop back again.

    • Michelle – thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. It is so wonderful to have your support for my blogging efforts.

  5. Such a coooooool idea. I couldn’t help but laugh a bit when I opened it, but truly creative! Made my day…..

  6. Very cool !!
    I love photos of everyday things transformed like this

    • Randi – I enjoy taking photos of everyday things, trying to create something different from the familiar. Taking the time to “look” at what is right in front of me is my daily goal as a photographer. Thanks so much for your comment. Please do come back.

  7. Love the way you interpreted the Cup Challenge. How interesting to think outside the box. Liked your photo very much.

    • Carol – that’s the thing that I like about challenges like Texture Tuesday. It gives you a framework within which to explore. And for this one, I really didn’t have much choice – I HAD to go outside the box because I didn’t have anything inside the box. I’m just lucky that the rest of the world enjoys their morning coffee. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment – I hope you will stop back again.

  1. Pingback: Into Your Garden | How to Feather an Empty Nest

I greatly appreciate your comments!

