The Red Barn

April-19

Welcome to another “Texture Tuesday“. This week our challenge was to utilize two of Kim’s free textures – “Sweet Treat” and “Silence” – in the same image.

This past weekend involved another road trip. Our travels took us to Waterman, Illinois, a small town about an hour southwest of Chicago, in the middle of farm country. The  happy occasion: our grandson’s second birthday party. (More details to follow in a future post.)

For anyone who has traveled the Ohio/Indiana turnpike can attest, there are miles and miles of farmland along this route. I spent a good part of the return journey attempting to capture the beauty of the flat, open fields and the farm buildings in their glorious disrepair.  All while speeding along at 70 mph – but only when I wasn’t driving, of course.  

Last week, I shared with you a red door. This week, a red barn. This image begged for the addition of textures to enhance its rustic, vintage quality.

Following my normal RAW edits and some judicious cropping, I added this weeks challenge textures, using the Transform function to fit them to my narrow image . The next step was to simply test out each of the blend modes to see which combination was most effective and interesting. The image was also enhanced with a free Photoshop action from Pioneer Woman Photography called “Vintage”. How appropriate is that?  We have now stepped back decades to an earlier time.

My Photoshop “recipe”:

  • Silence Texture, Linear Burn blend mode, 100% opacity
  • Sweet Treat texture, Soft Light blend mode, 25% opacity
  • Vintage Action, 50% opacity

What do you think? Was this “mixture” a success?

Posted on April 19, 2011, in Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Very nice– it does have the feel of a well aged photo. Thanks for sharing! Great job! : )

    • Jessica,
      Thank you so much for stopping by today and commenting – I really do appreciate it. Considering that this shot was taken from a moving vehicle going 70+mph, I am very pleased with the results. I think the turnpike should offer “photographic” rest stops along the way – I saw so many beautiful barns that I was unable to capture.

      I hope you will stop by again.

  2. The thumbnail of this caught my eye on Kim’s site and I had to have a closer look. I love what you did with this image, the textures are beautiful and create a wonderful mood.

    • Karen,

      I am having a great time experimenting with Kim’s textures. They have added a whole new dimension to my photographs. I really appreciate the feedback and hope that you will stop by again.

  3. So inspired by what you’ve done here. Great job! Love how you used those specific 2 textures with the scene. I would have never thought of trying them in this manner. =^D

    • Melaine,

      That is the wonderful thing about these weekly challenges – they offer so much opportunity to learn from others. Each week I am inspired by the work of the group. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting – it means the world to me. I hope you will come by again in the future.

  4. Love the shot by itself, but the texture twist is really awesome!

    • I agree – I think the application of Kim’s textures made this a much more interesting photograph. How lucky we are to be able to share in this creative generosity. Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting. I hope you will stop back again.

  5. You did a wonderful job with the textures. I like to shoot old barns myself and enjoyed your images.

    • I saw hundreds of barns during our trip through Ohio, Indiana and Illinois. How I wish that I could have pulled over every time we drove by one. But then I would have needed an additional week to make the trip. I really appreciate that you stopped by – please do come back again.

  6. Your texture work and the vintage action really made for a better picture. Nice job.

    • Julie – I agree. I think the original photograph is much improved with the Photoshop additions. There are some photographs which seem to lend themselves so well to this kind of treatment. I am excited to be part of this weekly creative challenge. Thanks so much for stopping by – please do stop back again.

  7. beautiful work. i love how you processed this image.

    • Lorraine,

      Thanks so much for your comment. I agree that the addition of Kim’s textures and the PW action took a rather bland image to something kind of special. We are so lucky to be able to share in the creativity of these generous artists. I hope that you will stop back again.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

