The Red Door

April-12

 Welcome to another “Texture Tuesday“. Last weekend was a travel marathon  – a  road trip to Raleigh, North Carolina to visit my incredible son and his lovely girlfriend. And an opportunity to photograph new places.

During an artwalk in downtown Durham, I discovered this stunning red door/shutter combination. It called out for the addition of a texture to enhance its lovely decrepitude. Below is a peek at my Photoshop layers palette as well as the original shot prior to enhancements. For this image, I utilized the latest free texture graciously shared by Kim – a texture entitled “silence”. The image was also enhanced with a free Photoshop action from Pioneer Woman Photography called “Soft & Faded”.

So many of my images have been magically enhanced by the addition of textures and actions generously shared by artists such as Kim and Ree. My art is greater because of their benevolent creativity. Becoming a part of the online photographic community has challenged and inspired and stimulated my work. I am grateful to them and to you for coming along for the ride.

Posted on April 12, 2011, in Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I love this, the bright red door is amazing. Your processing is perfect!

    • Tara,

      Like you, I loved this door! When I was a teenager, it was my plan to have a red door on my future family home. While that didn’t come true, I am still attracted to the happy and welcoming sight of a red door. Thank you so much for dropping by and for your comment. I do hope you will stop by again.

  2. I have a picture of a Red Door 2! Yours is way better! Love it! Have a great week!

  3. This is fantastic! Great photo and a good use of texture to only enhance the image! Wonderful job!

    • Cedar – thanks so much for commenting on my texture usage. I appreciate that you took the time to stop by – please stop back.

  4. Your texture enhancement and processing worked out beautifully. I just love the way you deepened the color. This is a special shot.

    • Genie,

      Most of the success of this photo is related to coming across that wonderful red door – I just added a little bit of icing. Thank you so much for taking the time to check out my blog – I hope you will stop back.

  5. Beautiful work, the texture really enhanced the shot !!

    • Lily – thank you so much for leaving your thoughts. I haven’t been a very good traveler in my life up till now but photography has given me a new outlook. Seeking the unknown provides exciting opportunities to capture new things – like this red door.

      I hope you will stop back again.

  6. Love this picture!! Thanks again for visting. It was so great to have you both nearby. Safe travels on your upcoming trip. xo, Kaileen

    • Kaileen – Durham was a fun place for photography and this red door was one of the highlights.

      We have arrived safely at Elliot’s – photography will now be a challenge.

  7. I love everything about this photo. The color, texture and the lines. So well done.

    • Jess – coming across this red door was such a wonderful surprise and it just seemed to work so well with the texture. One of those lucky happenstances. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. Please do come back!

  8. Fabulous. I really really love what the addition of the texture did to this shot. I’m headed to NC soon. Makes me excited to seek out some decrepitude there.

    • The weather didn’t cooperate as much as I would have liked during our brief NC visit – I still haven’t made it to downtown Raleigh for a photo walk yet. And I could have spent hours in Durham but didn’t want to tax my husband’s patience too much. Enjoy your trip – will look forward to your images.

  9. Just be glad you missed the tornadoes!

    • Even more luck: the tornados missed my son and his girlfriend. There was a touchdown only about a mile away from his apartment with quite extensive damage. The vagaries of nature.

  1. Pingback: The Red Barn | How to Feather an Empty Nest

I greatly appreciate your comments!

